Momfest

When I was in college, my roomie Amy told me about her family’s tradition of celebrating her mom’s birthday and Mother’s Day every year.  Her mom’s birthday is May 13, which always falls within a few days of Mother’s Day, so her family celebrates the entire “Season of Patfest.”  I was lucky enough to participate in the Patfest festivities the year I bunked on Amy’s couch while working as a summer associate for Hughes & Luce.  Ever since then, I have looked forward to being a mom and having a whole Season of ME!  Plus, with my birthday falling on May 15, there is no chance for Mother’s Day to be on the same day, so I will always get a multi-day celebration!  Ha!

Well, this year, the festival of ME lasted an entire week, and I milked it.  We started on Mother’s Day with a family walk to Top Pot Doughnuts (as if we need an excuse), where I had my usual (decaf mocha and a bullseye with strawberry filling) and the boys split a couple of old fashioneds and a cinnamon sugar cake.  Mmmmmm.  I’m so serious when I say that you could come visit us in Seattle for no other reason than the doughnuts and be quite satisfied.

Later that evening, Heath and I went on a date and left Frank with a babysitter for the first time since the move!  Several months ago, when we lived downtown near the Seattle Center, I would see the Key Arena digital marquee nearly everyday.  In between the announcements for Sesame Street Live and WNBA games, I noticed that James Taylor and Carole King were coming to town on May 9.  I hinted around to Heath about wanting to go for Momfest, and he joked that I must be turning 66 instead of 33.  Not amused, I held my ground and even suggested he might enjoy the concert as well.  Fast forward to early May, and I find out my in-laws had secured us a couple of tickets to the show through their connections at the Cowboys.  I knew I always liked Heath’s parents better than him anyway!  Needless to say, the concert was great…especially from the FIRST ROW!  JT sounds just as good as he does on the old records from the ’70’s, but in addition to the great performance, I was really blown away by the sign language interpreters who were stationed right in front of us.  Those ladies were amazing, and the hearing impaired couple sitting next to us enjoyed the show as much as we did!  Oh, and if you are wondering whether Heath was miserable, worry not.  If you had seen him belting out “You Make Me Feel (Like a Natural Woman)” with Carole, you’d have thought they were the only two people in the room.

The celebration continued all the way through the next weekend.  On Friday night, the boys took me to dinner at Tenoch, the new Mexican restaurant in our neighborhood.  Congratulations, Seattle — there is finally some decent Mexican food in your town!  The food was great and we were able to sit outside on the patio.  If only I could have thrown back a couple of margaritas, it would have been a perfect evening!  Saturday was my actual birthday, and my only request was that I be allowed to shirk my responsibilities to home and family for a few hours.  So, I went and got my hair did!  That afternoon, I wanted to go to the beach.  Unfortunately, in the rare instance that the temperature reaches 70 degrees in May, I learned that the public beaches turn into Spring Break in Daytona or something.  Made a U-turn in the parking lot and decided to return to real life.  We hit an Italian restaurant in the Ballard neighborhood for dinner, which was forgettable, but I did partake in a small glass of wine to toast the occasion.  Two years ago, I tried to have a glass of wine on my birthday when I was pregnant with Frank, but the heartburn made it more painful than pleasurable.  I’m happy to report that my heartburn has subsided a bit this time around, and the glass of Santa Margherita did not disappoint.

My main present from the boys was a spa day, complete with pregnancy massage and mani/pedi!  They made my appointment for Sunday morning, so I got to blow this popsicle stand for the second day in a row!  Upon my return home, feeling somewhat like a noodle, I was able to reclaim my position as SuperMom and tackle the next week with renewed energy (well, as much energy as a 32-week-pregnant lady can have…).  Not that I’m complaining, but sometimes it is nice to get a few hours to myself!  Thanks, Heath and Frank, for making my second MOMFEST the best ever!  And, btw, if you’re feeling sorry for Heath, don’t.  His birthday is June 16, so he gets his own DADFEST in just a few short weeks!  Yay!

3 Comments

  1. Oh Ash, so glad momfest was a success. Sounds like you have settled into your new surroundings quite nicely. Since I LOVE donuts, and so do my boys, we may have to come visit just for that, oh and spend some time with you too. Hope the last few weeks of being a mom of 1 go smoothly. 2 is a whole new ballgame.

  2. Just catching up on your blog and saw the shout out to Pat! Love it and love that you had a great Ash Fest!

  3. Just catching up on your blog and saw the shout out to Pat! Love it and love that you had a great Ash Fest!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

